/ Categories: Press Releases

ATC Foundation Awards Scholarships to Recent High School Graduates

(June 22, 2016, Aiken, SC) Aiken Technical College Foundation recently awarded area high school graduates with more than $94,000 in scholarships for the 2016-17 school year.
“I’ve met with so many high school students who financially cannot afford the cost of tuition and books,” said Mary Commons, ATC Foundation Director. “Due to the overwhelming support of businesses and individuals who have contributed to scholarships, we are able to help many attend college. These students are so appreciative of the scholarships and now they can concentrate on their academics instead of finances.”
This year, the Foundation implemented a new online application and review process. Applicants were able to see a list of scholarships they would be considered for upon submitting the application.
More than 350 applications were received from graduating high school seniors this year.
“Our new online scholarship system is a tremendous help to the staff at Aiken Technical College and it makes it much easier for students to apply for scholarships,” said Commons. “The process takes about 15 minutes to complete and when a student is able to see what scholarships they may qualify for immediately, their face lights up with a sense of accomplishment.”
Recipients were acknowledged at their respective high school’s awards ceremonies. To activate the scholarship, the recipient must enroll at ATC during the 2016-17 school year.
Recipients are (by school):
Aiken County Career and Technology Center
Vernon R. Ford Career Center Scholarship Recipients, $1,000: Carlos Florido, Noah Long, Kenneth Lybrand, Samantha McCarty, Evan McClain, Collin McKinnon, Abby Williams and Paul Zeaser.
Aiken High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1,000: Brittany Burroughs, Savannah Coleman, Meagan Dooley, Jason Dyer, Alyssa Jones, Angel Ownbey and Lucas Turner
Energy Solutions Engineering Technology Scholarship, $500: Aaron Coleman
Katie Scott Memorial Education Scholarship, $500: Denkea Dennis
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Kyson Weathersbee

Fox Creek High School
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Bryan Gregory Hurt

Midland Valley High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1000: Iris Acuna, Lakila Daniels, Sara McLane, Rachel Moment and Angel Moss
Georgialina Physical Therapy Associate Scholarship, $1,500: Brandon Able
Industrial Maintenance Scholarship, $500: Jeremy Eidson
Midland Valley Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, $1,500: John Cogburn
Roland & Peggy Smith Scholars, $1,000: Lauren Ard, Jazmine Canaday, Austin Garcia, Gage McIntosh, Donovan McMullin, Jessica Outlaw, Christopher Raynor, Madison Storey and Lleime Trujillo
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Zachary James Fields

North Augusta High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1,000: James Adams, Sarah Bickford, Teondra Brigham, Carmelita Diaz Lazaro, Taylor Grimes, Kelly Miles, Marley Ranson, Madison Spires and Katelynn Williams
John D. Bryan Criminal Justice Scholarship, $500: Tyler Lamb
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Monica Vance

Ridge Spring-Monetta High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1,000: Amber Bailey, Elizabeth Cook, Allyson Hall, Noah Scott and Moseanique Swint
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Joelle Leguizamon

Silver Bluff High School
Within Reach Scholarship, $1,000: Imani Booker
Roland & Peggy Smith Scholarships, $1,000: Clinton Holtsizer, Ashley Hyatt, Jada Perry, Raeleigh Soles and Michael Souza
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Michael Brandon Hall

South Aiken High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1,000: Austin Adams, Miguel Ceja, Logan Coggin, Sarah Day, Payton Folk, William Hamilton, Emily Harley, Nyela Jackson, Paul Mazzell, Natalie McLemore, Kimberly Oakley, Tiffany Rickenbaker, Tori Shekastehband, Cassidy Stuart and Layton Woody
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Ronald Golding

Strom Thurmond High School
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Haley Ussery

Wagener-Salley High School
Within Reach Scholarships, $1,000: Shelby Bell, Riley Burnett, Tialeisha Corley, Erica Danley, Jordyn Disher and Hallie Hutto
Donald Bleasdale Memorial Book Scholarship, $300: Avery Snipes
Vernon R. Ford Scholarship, $1,000: Daniel Jacob Yon

Previous Article ATC Announces Dean’s List for Spring 2016
Next Article ATC President Receives South Carolina’s Highest Civilian Award
Number of views: 2399 Article rating:

Archive and Events
«March 2019»

Summer 2019 Guest Student Enrollment Guide

Give yourself some credit this summer! Join us as a guest student and earn college credits that transfer back to your home institution.
Read more
3/30/2019 12:00 PM

Aiken Technical College to Host College Prep Seminar, Real Talk 101

Aiken Technical College will host a Real Talk 101: College Prep Seminar for area high school juniors and seniors on Saturday, March 30 from noon to 2 p.m. in the College’s amphitheater (700 building). The event is free, but registration is required.
Read more