ATC Students Recognized for Academics, Leadership and Service
Nikasha N Dicks
/ Categories: Press Releases

ATC Students Recognized for Academics, Leadership and Service

More than $52,000 in scholarships awarded to ATC students

Persistence is a key to success. That was the message shared with honorees during Aiken Technical College’s annual Awards Night held Thursday.

ATC President Dr. Forest Mahan encouraged students to continue on their path to success by focusing on three areas: pacing themselves; balancing their life; and persisting no matter the circumstances.

During the event, the ATC Foundation awarded over $52,500 in scholarships to more than 60 ATC students for the 2017-18 academic year. Additional scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school seniors in May.

Students from each of the College’s academic divisions were recognized for outstanding academic achievement. The top academic award, the Buck Grant Award, was awarded to Claudia Sewell, a student in the College’s radiation protection technology program. Sewell is on the Dean’s List, a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and has maintained a 4.0 grade point average.

Students were also recognized for their leadership and service in the campus’s student organizations including American Welding Society, Campus Ambassadors, Christian Life Club, Student Government Association, Student Nurses Association and Student Veterans Association.

ATC student Sara Rooney received the Student Service Award which is awarded annually to a student who has made significant contributions to the College, the student body, and to the community. Rooney is a Campus Ambassador, member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and a member of the Student Leadership Council.

Below is a complete of honorees and awards:

2017-18 Scholarship Recipients

  • Ashley J. Little Endowment Scholarship, $3,000, Samantha Langley
  • ATC Presidential Scholarships, $2,000 each, Patricia Beam, Jewanda Blacks, Bobby Cook, Elena Gallegos, Earnest Key, Timothy Pennington, Jennifer Ross, Raynee Spires, Steven Walling and Stephanie Wylds
  • Bridge the Gap Sponsorships from the Aiken-Augusta Wounded Warrior Charity Golf Classic, $2,500, Rodgerick Bell; $500, Brian Butler; $500, Vanessa Kelly; $1,500, Brittany Kepler; $2,000, Mack Rutland; $2,000, Wesley Spann; $1,500, Rubin Stroman; and $1,500, Bill Thomas
  • Aiken Lions Club Scholarships, $1,000 each, Brittany Bolin and Caroline Foss
  • Amelia Grace Mottel Memorial Nursing Scholarship, $500, Hannah Henshaw
  • American Association of University Women Scholarships, $500 each, Bryanna Baynham, Shirley Blume, Abigahil Camacho, Lauren Friday, Cinthia Gallegos, Makayla Goff, Maggie Hightower, Kinshasa Hill, Caroline Johnson, Caroline Phelps, Elizabeth Pittman, D'Lisha Scott, Daisylee Torres, Carol Utter and Monica Vance
  • ATC Book Scholarships, $300 each, Juan Aquino, Devin Farah, Joy Kamanga and Victoria Shekastehband
  • Bridgestone Americas Scholarships, $625 each, William Epperson, Bryon Herron, John Christophe Lewis and Shayn Price
  • Bridgestone Industrial Maintenance Scholarship for Females & Minority Students, $1,000, Sabrina Oakman
  • A. Norton Endowment Scholarships, $500 each, Matthew Golden and Shameka Johnson
  • Donald Bleasdale Memorial Book Scholarship, $300, Earl Bryant
  • Energy Solutions Engineering Technology Scholarship, $500, Seth Gfeller
  • George Dickey Endowment Scholarship, $900, Manu Ganesh
  • Henry Pickens Cato II Endowment Scholarship, $1,000, Stephanie Stewart
  • Hilda Delionbach Memorial Nursing Endowment Scholarship, $500, Phylicia Dubose
  • Hospital Auxiliary of Aiken County Nursing Scholarship, $1,000, Rebecca Paschal
  • Hospital Auxiliary of Aiken County Surgical Technology Scholarship, $1,000, Christina McCormick
  • Industrial Maintenance Scholarship, $500, Gage McIntosh
  • James Geer/Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship, $300, Emily Perez
  • John D. Bryan Criminal Justice Scholarship, $500, Billy Creech
  • Katie Scott Memorial Education Scholarship, $445, Shari Street
  • Marlin L. Knight Memorial Nursing Endowment Scholarship, $400, Sara Lewis
  • Mike King Memorial Paramedic Scholarship, $1,000, Richard Roe
  • and Mrs. William Kolosvary Scholarship, $300, Shaniah Johnson
  • Nancy Moore Thurmond Endowment Scholarship, $600, Savannah Coleman
  • Nuclear Suppliers Association Scholarships, $1,000 each, Brandon Able and Cassandra Jennings
  • Rogers Book Scholarship, $300, Ana Melecio
  • Rudy Mason Endowment Scholarship, $500, Brittany Burroughs
  • Sand River Woman's Club Scholarships, $400 each, Buffy Duncan and Jennifer Peterson
  • Weldon Computer Technology Book Scholarship, $480, Andrew Martin
  • Women of Woodside Scholarship, $500, Carolyn Chester


Academic Awards

  • Buck Grant Award, Claudia Sewell
  • Outstanding Student Award: Associate in Arts, Victoria Pineda
  • Outstanding Student Award: Associate in Science, Nicholas Grubbs
  • Outstanding Student Award: Associate in Applied Science, Rumona Frazier
  • Outstanding Student Award: Business and Computer Technology, Gunna Price
  • Outstanding Student Award: Health Sciences, Earnest “Wayne” Key
  • Outstanding Student Award: Technical Education, Jason Lopez


Leadership and Service Awards

  • Student Service Award, Sara Rooney
  • American Welding Society, Victoria Shekastehband and Noah Slate
  • Campus Ambassadors, Sara Rooney and Jake Weisert
  • Christian Life Club, Helena Herndon
  • Student Government Association, Donneshia Bell and Patricia Graham
  • Student Nurses Association, Tena Morris and Susan Sapp
  • Student Veterans Association, Jonathan McGee
  • ATC Service Award, T’Keya Anderson, Jonathan McGee, Sara Rooney, Lisa Washington, Jake Weisert, Abby Williams and Diane Wilson
Previous Article Awards Night Ceremony to Recognize Outstanding Students
Next Article SC Technical College System President to be ATC Commencement Speaker
Number of views: 5440 Article rating:

Archive and Events
«January 2021»

Aiken Technical College Names Its 2020-21 SCTEA Educators of the Year Honorees

Aiken Technical College (ATC) has named its 2020-21 South Carolina Technical Education Association Educator of the Year award recipients.

The awards recognize employees throughout the South Carolina Technical College System who have contributed to furthering the System’s mission and have done outstanding work in their roles at their colleges.

Read more

Employer Registration Open for Virtual Career Fair

Area employers are invited to participate in the SC Technical College System Virtual Career Fair on Tuesday, April 20. The career fair will provide employers with an opportunity to interact with technical and community college students from around the state, including Aiken Technical College.

Read more
1/24/2021 3:00 PM

Aiken Technical College, University of South Carolina Aiken to Host Virtual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Celebration Event

Aiken Technical College and the University of South Carolina Aiken will present the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Celebration on Sunday, January 24 at 3 p.m. virtually via the institutions’ Facebook and YouTube pages.

The keynote speaker for the event will be Benedict College President Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis, who will speak on Dr. King’s quote, “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere,” the theme for the 2021 event.

Read more