Governing Board

Aiken Technical College Commission

The Aiken County Commission for Technical and Comprehensive Education is the governing board for Aiken Technical College. Members are appointed through the State of South Carolina’s Office of the Governor and serve in four-year terms.

Commission Members 2018 - 2019

Carlos Garcia, Chairman

Carlos Garcia is the founder of RCS Corporation which has offices in Aiken and Charlotte, NC. He also serves as a Commissioner with the Aiken County Commission for Higher Education and is a member of the University of South Carolina Aiken’s School of Business advisory board. Mr. Garcia has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, NJ.

Joe Lewis, Vice-Chairman

Joe Lewis is the Aiken Market President of First Community Bank. He is involved in the community as a member of the Rotary Club of Aiken and also serves as a board member of the Aiken Corporation and on the endowment committee of St. John’s United Methodist Church. Mr. Lewis has a bachelor’s degree in administrative management from Clemson University in Clemson, SC.

William Windley, Secretary

William (Bill) Windley has worked with Kimberly-Clark Co. since 1979 and currently is responsible for coordination of the mill’s capital budget, management various capital projects and training other engineers on the company’s capital project procedures. He is a member of Grace United Methodist Church where he serves as head usher. Mr. Windley received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from North Carolina State University and a Master of Business Administration from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Virginia Hawkins

Virginia (Ginger) Hawkins is the Chief Nurse Officer at Aiken Regional Medical Center where she influences the strategic direction and aligns nursing goals to improve quality, patient safety and transform culture. She also serves on the Aiken County Community Medical Clinic board, Aiken County Red Cross board, the CSRA Nursing Workforce Coalition, and is a 2015 Leadership Aiken County graduate.

Monica Key

Monica Key is a Senior Human Resources Section Leader and Community Relations Manager for Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations PSR Plant, where she has been employed since 1999. She also serves on boards for the American Red Cross, the Family Y of Aiken and the University of South Carolina-Aiken Partnership Board. Key is a graduate of Limestone College with a bachelor's degree in psychology and holds HR certifications from the HR Certification Institute and the Society for Human Resource Management.

Daniel Lloyd, Jr.

Daniel Lloyd, Jr is a retired human resources professional with 40 years of HR experience in various industries in Aiken County. His most recent employment was at the Savannah River Site where he worked for more than 25 years. Lloyd is a graduate of Benedict College in Columbia, SC. and a 2002 graduate of the South Carolina Executive Institute of the State Budget & Control Board.

Stuart MacVean

Stuart MacVean is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC (SRNS). Prior to joining SRNS, he served as a vice president of Operations for Fluor Government Group’s Environmental and Nuclear business line, was President and Project Manager at Savannah River Remediation LLC (SRR), the liquid waste contractor at SRS, and a vice president at AECOM. He currently serves as the charter chairman of the CSRA American Heart Association Board and a member of the Aiken Partnership Board for the University of South Carolina Aiken.

Alvin Padgett

Alvin Padgett co-operates Palmetto Tire & Brake Center which he opened after retiring from the Savannah River Site. At the site, he worked for E.I. DuPont where he held several positions in the maintenance organization and worked for the Department of Energy on the back-up power committee. He serves as the Scoutmaster for a local boy scout troop and is the minister of music at his church. He graduated from the Nashville Auto Diesel College.

Keyatta Priester

Keyatta Priester is the Community Development Manager for Aiken Electric Cooperative. She actively volunteers with area United Way agencies and serves on boards and councils including the United Way of Aiken, Aiken Family YMCA, the Aiken County Public School District Early Learning Advisory Board, Aiken Community Service Networking Group, Rotary Club of Aiken, Tim Scott's John Moniz Champion of Hope Advisory Council, and the Midland Valley, Aiken and North Augusta Chambers of Commerce.

Dr. Sean Alford, Ex-Officio

Dr. Sean Alford is the Superintendent of the Aiken County Public School District. He began his career as a teacher of World and American History, psychology and modern literature and has since held numerous roles in education throughout South Carolina. He has a bachelor’s degree in education from The Citadel, master’s degree in educational administration from the University of Wisconsin, and educational specialist and doctorate degrees in educational leadership from the University of South Carolina.

Teresa Haas, Ex-Officio

Teresa Haas is the Director of Government and Community Relations for Savannah River Nuclear Solutions (SRNS), LLC. Prior to SRS, she managed political campaigns and worked as chief of staff and legislative director for members of the U.S. Congress. She is a member of the Aiken County Commission on Higher Education, Past President of the Aiken Women’s Heart Board; Past Chair of the Greater Aiken Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. She is a member of Aiken’s First Baptist Church and a graduate of Clemson University.

Loading ....Loading ....



Commission Meetings

The Aiken County Commission for Technical and Comprehensive Education regularly meets on the second Monday of each month (except in December and July) at 5:15 p.m. Meetings are held in conference room 102 of the Ashley J. Little Administration Building (unless otherwise noted).